Welcome Wilson Jr. is President and Chief Executive Officer of Welcome Group, a real estate development firm specializing in single-tenant office buildings and industrial properties with warehouse and manufacturing facilities. He has extensive experience in industrial development, residential subdividing, office buildings, and retail centers. He also serves as developer with Kingham Dalton Wilson Ltd., a design/build construction affiliate of Welcome Group and is a director of River Oaks Financial Group, Inc.

Welcome W. Wilson, Jr. was appointed to the UH System Board of Regents in 2011 by Governor Rick Perry and will serve through August 31, 2017. For the fiscal year 2013-2014, Regent Wilson will serve as secretary to the Board of Regents, Chair of the Facilities, Construction and Master Planning Committee, Chair of the Academic and Student Success Committee, Vice Chair of the Finance and Administration Committee and as a member of the Executive and Compensation Committee.

Wilson serves as Chairman of the Board of the Southwest Houston Redevelopment Authority, Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number 20, and the Houston Realty Business Coalition. He is Director of the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation and serves on the board of the Texas Business Hall of Fame. He also has served on both the Greater Houston Partnership’s Common Grounds Initiative Committee and Energy Collaborative Cluster Council Leadership Committee.

Wilson’s philanthropic endeavors include having served on the board of the Houston Food Bank, where he previously served as Vice Chairman, and the American Lung Association Regional Advisory Board. He served as Director of the Houstonian Club Advisory Board and President of the Kinkaid Alumni Association.